Stretching

Untitled-14a

I’ve heard a lot of sketchbook artists say they love the Pentel Pocket Brush Pen, and with a bit of discretionary personal money burning a hole in my pocket, I decided to give one a chance. It arrived in the mail last Friday and I’ve been able to give it a couple test runs.

The bird in this spread uses the brush pen. It looks pretty much indistinguishable from the ink + brush combo I’ve used on birds before, so it was a pretty familiar process. The obvious benefit of the pen is having it portable and ready to go at a moment’s notice. I plan on using it primarily on organic drawings in the future—trees, animals, landscapes, and the like.

In the background is a drawing I did of the Siena cathedral (from a photo). It took a very long time, and the inspiration for it was trying to incorporate some of Lapin‘s style into my own. Perhaps I succeeded in my own way. I certainly felt an achievement in how it turned out. Perhaps the composition is muddled, the styles conflicting, the captions banal. But I am very proud of the progress I made in these two pages.

Eh?

