Oil Painting Practice 1

When I first bought this huge pack of PS brushes back in October, it seemed like too much. And it was. It took me a long time to figure out even the most appealing of the brushes (Gouache a Go Go, I’m telling you). But now that the magic has worn off, I thought it was a good time to explore some more of them.

In actuality, I’ve been toying with the inking brushes in the last month or so. They’re fun, but stark black/white has its limits. So I dove into the oils.

Oil-painting-practice-1

I wanted something that would work as a header for my social media accounts. The old header of this here blog was one of my initial oil experiments several months ago, and I wanted something in that vein, but more sophisticated. Badda bing badda boom.

I fully intend to get a few more under my belt. Painting landscapes is a good substitute for when you can’t get outdoors.

Eh?

