Fickle

I’m a fickle guy. I love to be creative but I have a very hard time sticking with a single discipline for long. Sketchbooks, oil painting, digital illustration, doesn’t matter. I get to a certain point and then quit. Perhaps it’s because my desire to become great at it fades, or maybe my life keeps getting in the way. Whatever the reason, it’s not something I particularly like.

So for 2016 my resolution is to do one thing for the whole year. I’ve given it a lot of thought, and I’ve chosen linocut block printing. I’ve done a bit of this in the past, and the craftiness of it has always been appealing. So that’s what I’m doing.

The big project to start off the year is going to be illustrating¬†The Man of Iron, a somewhat obscure fairy tale by the Brothers Grimm. I’m sure I’ll want to quit many times along the way, but my goal is to finish, to go beyond the point of good enough.

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

Eh?

